India Gate Series

India Gate Series – A short Instagram project by Zac Kenny [ztarkid]

I was amazed at the splendor of these gates that I keep seeing around town.  I find the concept of the gates quite interesting; a gate is needed to keep out the unwelcome, while at the same time are quite beautiful and pleasing to the eye.  Very poor families live on the side of the road or in empty lots which are waiting to be bought and built on.  I find myself thinking more about not only the class system [caste system] that is in effect here, but my own status here also; as a foreigner I am a part of the ruling class by default.  In this way I find the gates are real works of art in their capacity to entice this deeper reflection; unintentional and majestic reminders of the local (and also global) division of wealth.

-Zac

