Zac and I have. Been living in Jaipur, India for 2 weeks now with what I would call an upper middle class family by my understanding and experience of Canadian class systems. Because of our insertion within this status level it has sheltered us in many ways from the other ways of life in India. Everyday we get up in the morning and go to the garden and sit down under the outdoor ceiling fan on the patio and skim the Hindustan newspaper from Delhi or Jaipur. From our comfortable and privileged seats we are served hot chai tea and are left to relax before breakfast. Everyday we read of the great many sexual assaults and corruption within the country that labels us foreigners. It is upsetting to read stories of women being soaked by kerosene and burnt alive by a man because she turned down his advances. Upsetting is an understatement. These stories leave me shaking my head as I try and hold back my tears because I don’t know what else to do. Then someone will call zac and I out of our distraught trances and ask us to come inside for breakfast. Our day goes on. We laugh at each others jokes, we watch the birds fly around the ripening mango tree outside our bedroom window as we work away the day and once again from our privileged position forget in the front of our minds that a woman was burnt alive and later died in a hospital because another human being chose such a horrifyingly violent way of dealing with rejection.
Today was different. I browsed the Delhi edition of the Hindustan newspaper and did not find any stories about the rape of women and children in India but I found a potential solution to this criminal behaviour. Could it be education? I won’t re-iterate all the points I find interesting or of value in this article written by Omair Ahmad because I would be citing the entirety of his words.
Please have a read.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/News-Feed/ColumnsOthers/It-s-time-to-break-the-ice/Article1-1066173.aspx

20130527-123907.jpg 20130527-123940.jpg
